Friday, August 14, 2015

Hell (The Afterlife Series #2) by Mur Lafferty

Release Date: June 2, 2011 (first published 2007)
Publisher: Restless Brain Media
Series: The Afterlife Series, Book 2
Author Website: 

Rating: 4 out of 5stars.

Kate and Daniel came together once again as their duties in Heaven ended. Their mission to recover the remaining stolen souls directed them to wander through the various versions of Hell and deal with the rulers therein. One by one, the souls were sent to their rightful homes by both Kate and Daniel, but the duo found themselves dealing with long hidden secrets and feelings.

With each touched by the Divine in different ways, Kate and Daniel worked their magic upon the Underworld until they reached the end of the line. One last soul needed to be collected. It would decide the fate of the Cosmos, the Afterlife and their friendship. Can all the differences be reconciled before it's too late? Will Kate and Daniel be separated forever?

As with the other books in the Afterlife series, I first took note of them when they were released in audio-book form by the author on Podiobooks, a podcast reading of her written material. Once I saw them in Kindle format, I snagged each one of them. Reading through the books brought back all the feelings and excitement of listening to them for the first time. To be honest I found this book as good the second and third times as I found it the very first time.

While the second book followed the further adventures of Kate and Daniel, many other characters were introduced into the mix as well. The reader was given a front row seat to the many different versions of hell that exist within the various religions around the world and from past civilizations. As with their adventures in Heaven, the duo challenged the rulers of the different areas of the Underworld and began a significant change in the structure of the particular Hell they visited. In some instances they made such a difference that the Hell no longer existed after their intervention. Along the way Kate and Daniel had to deal with their feelings for each other that they revealed at the end of the first book.

They weren't the only players to wreak havoc in the Underworld though. Familiar faces reappeared in this book to reveal their own agendas that included Kate and Daniel from the very beginning. At one point Daniel faced one of his most guarded secrets. (No spoilers!) Not only did the stolen souls play a part in shaping the story, but Daniel's anger as well as Kate's sadness became characters in the latter part of the story. Toward the end of the book, everything they went through shaped them into the perfect vessels to complete the next stage of their journey through the Afterlife.

From the start there was action, drama and bits of comedy that maintained a steady pace throughout the rest of the book. I was surprised at how well the story continued from the first book. It was very evident that a lot of research went into the different layers and versions of Hell that the duo walked through. By the time I connected all the dots near the end, I was already invested into these characters. I wanted to see them succeed, felt sad when their darkest secrets came out to test them, and celebrated when Kate and Daniel were able to reach common ground. Overall, I enjoyed this story the third time reading it as much as I did the first time I heard it in audio-book version. If you're looking for a different take on the "downside" of the Afterlife or want to know what happens to Kate and Daniel, then you definitely have to pick up this book!

Hell (The Afterlife Series #2) by Mur Lafferty is currently available at several online retailers in digital formats including Kindle. You can purchase the book from Amazon at the link provided below.
Hell (The Afterlife Series #2) by Mur Lafferty

No comments:

Post a Comment